Science Europe

Science Europe (SE) is an association of European Research Funding Organisations (RFO) and Research Performing Organisations (RPO). SE takes over and further develops activities which were implemented by European Science Foundation (ESF) in the past.

SE was established in 2011 and is based in Brussels. SE comprises 38 organisations from 27 European countries. SE also cooperates with other entities such as the European Commission, European Universities and Academies, European Scientific Intergovernmental organisations or individual national governments for the purpose of developing the European Research Area (ERA).
Science Europe´s main mission is the strategy coordination of European research-supporting organisations to increase the competitiveness of European science and research at a global level. SE promotes the work of its member organisations and supports cooperation between them both at policy and activity level. It also cooperates with non-European research organisations. SE acts, with the interests and expert views of researchers as a guide, to maximise the input of the member organisations in the development of the ERA in conjunction with the European Commission. It ensures that publicly funded research and innovation in Europe has the maximum impact, contributing to the development of the economy and providing solutions to deliver societal benefit.
One of the GACR’s main interests within the SE is the Open Access issue, the cross-border cooperation issue, the accessibility of scientific data and outputs.

Structure of SE:

The highest decision making body of Science Europe is the General Assembly which consists of representatives of all member organisations and it may also include high-level observers from external bodies. On the basis of recommendations of the Governing Board, the General Assembly approves new members of SE.
The task of the Science Europe Governing Board is to guide and monitor the strategic direction of the organisation.
Since November 2017, the President of Science Europe is Marc Schiltz (FNR), who is supported by two Vice-Presidents. The Vice-President representing Research Performing Organisations is currently Ingrid Petersson, director General of the Swedish Research Council for Sustainable Development (FORMAS). The Vice-President representing Research Performing Organisations is Rosa Menéndez, President of the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC).

Other Science Europe Governing Board members are:
• Zbigniew Błocki, Director of the National Science Centre (NCN), Poland
• Fernando Ferroni, President of the National Institute for Nuclear Physics (INFN), Italy
• Stan Gielen, President of the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO)
• József Györkös, Director of the Slovenian Research Agency (ARRS)
• Angelika Kalt, Director of the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF)
• Andres Koppel, Director General of the Estonian Research Council (ETAG)
• László Lovász, President of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences (MTA)
• Andrew Thompson, Chief Executive of the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC), United Kingdom

Science Europe is advised by its Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) on key European research policy topics. This committee comprises of 30 high-profile active researchers from all over Europe who provide a unique insight into the implications of legislative and regulatory developments and offer Science Europe scientifically independent advice.


Accessibility statement
© 2022 GA ČR